The Mermaid and Mrs. Hancock By Imogen Hermes Gowar

In 1780s London, a prosperous merchant finds his quiet life upended when he unexpectedly receives a most unusual creature—and meets a most extraordinary woman—in this much-lauded, atmospheric debut that examines our capacity for wonder, obsession, and desire with all the magnetism, originality, and literary magic of The Essex Serpent. One September evening in 1785, Jonah…

The Handmaid’s Tale By Margaret Atwood

A PBS Great American Read Top 100 PickNow a Hulu Original Series The Handmaid’s Tale is a novel of such power that the reader will be unable to forget its images and its forecast. Set in the near future, it describes life in what was once the United States and is now called the Republic…

Children of Blood and Bone By Tomi Adeyemi, Legacy of Orisha (Book 1)

With five starred reviews, Tomi Adeyemi’s West African-inspired fantasy debut, and instant #1 New York Times Bestseller, conjures a world of magic and danger, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir. They killed my mother.They took our magic.They tried to bury us. Now we rise. Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha…